The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner, and I am sure this has been posted before.

My RCS babies just hatched about 10 days ago, and they are still very tiny. What should i do with water changes? I haven't done anything to the tank for at least 3 week beside just adding water. The algae & water look pretty bad :(

·
Registered
118 Posts
Just use your gravel vac but don't go near the substrate. I just hold it near the top and observe and make sure nothing gets sucked in.

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
I commented on this thread yesterday, but for some reason my post disappeared.

Anyways, just do 10-20% water changes (actually removing water and add fresh), not just topping off evaporation (you need to actually remove water to remove nitrates and TDS).
And if the water quality is bad, it is more helpful to remove nitrogen levels with water changes, rather than simply dilute the nitrogen levels with added water volume.

Check all your water parameters and report back, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Also mention temperature, pH, GH, KH, TDS (these are important).

For the shrimp, just keep the water healthy and feed them enough food so they can grow well. The water parameters should meet their requirements for the best health and growth.
Dwarf Shrimp Water Parameters ? DiscoBee
RCS water parameter specs at bottom of page

For food, natural growing algae is a good source. Shrimp's diet should mainly consist of plant/vegetable/algal proteins. But they are omnivores so they can eat other foods as well.
If algae isn't a big deal for you, you can purposely leave the lights on longer that way more algae grows (more microogranisms as well) and if there are any plants, they will photosynthesize longer, keeping the water cleaner.

Don't overfeed though or the water will foul.

Would help if you can post a pic of the tank/bad water.