Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 20 gallon tank healthily planted:

10 dwarf onions
1 banana plant
clover patch
2 indian red swords
5 nerite snails
5 cherry barbs

This is my first attempt and have concentrated on the plants during my first 6 months (the cherry barbs were a demand from the girlfriend).

So we both like the Gold Nugget Pleco a lot. Will a pleco eat/dig up my onions or banana? Can i feed him well enough to leave my plants alone? If a Pleco is not a good choice what is a good bottom feeder to have slinking around my tank? I was interested in the banjo fish but dont know much about the relationships with plants...thanks all.

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
There's actually several species of plecos that go by "gold nugget." I had 2 and they ate my swords. :( I hear that not all the GNPs will eat plants, though.

All of them will get too big for a 20gal tank, though. I'd go with some Otocinclus or Cory catfish (3-5) or even a BN pleco if you're faithful with water changes.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I had a plain-o Amazon Sword in a low light 29gal tank with a male bristlenose pleco and he did not eat it. There was not enough light for the Sword in that tank, so I moved it to a higher light 55gal with a female bristlenose pleco. Someone in that thank is turning the Sword into Swiss cheese. I assume the pleco...everyone else in the tank is a strict carnivore but the clown loaches rosey barbs. The Sword is growing a lot better but all the leaves are developing a bunch of holes a little less than one cm in diameter. Most holes are just holes, but some still have the center still attached at one edge. Looks exactly like what a suckermouth might do sucking too hard on a leaf.

So, answer is, some pleco's will ruin the swords.