The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, a little background. I've been a hobbiest for a long time however I am fairly new to planted tanks. (I spent all my money and energy in various cichlids and pleco's)

I know the basics, but still need your help a little. Here's the deal. My limiting factor is space. I rent a small room from a good friend of mine. With the proper shelf placement I could manage ten, 10 gallon tanks. I could go to larger tanks, but that seriously decreases the number of tanks allowed. Space being the problem, I decided that I would take my three 10 gallon tanks and turn them into planted tanks of various types. These three original tanks are going to serve as my starter tanks.

Any future tanks that I set up, will be comprised from what I propogated for one or more of these three tanks.

That being said. If you had only three, 10 gallon tanks to start your planted tank hobbie, what would you do with them?

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Definitely a high tech with stems and higher light plants and a lush carpet. Maybe a school of dwarf rasboras.

Definitely a low tech with shrimp or dwarf crays (CPOs, etc) (mosses, anubias nana petite, windelov, needle-leaf java)

Third tank, Id focus on keeping/breeding a nano fish, such as clown killies, CPDs, scarlet badis, peacock gudgeons, or something else interesting that appreciates plant cover.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What about filtration? On tanks this small I always get too much current from HOB's or other power filters.

I was thinking a Hydor mini sponge dialed way down.

·
Registered
206 Posts
I'd run the thing at 600-1000 gph using power heads and a canister filter my self. High current with a good filter means less biological waste breaking down in the column and between the plants. Don't be afraid of good flow.

-Philosophos