The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

You guys were awesome the last time I needed help so I figured I'd ask before went any further down the rabbit-hole again.

So the consensus last time was that I'd need to do CO2 for my 29 gal tank. I've pick most of my equipment, but I didn't realize that a inline reactor (going with the Sera Flore Active 500) needed a water source (yes I'm a newbie). Trying to figure out where or rather the best source for this is what's tripping me up. I've found a lot about DIY inline reactors, but I just don't trust myself to make one correctly. I see most people talking about attaching them to canister filters. I had planned on doing a Aquaclear 30 HOB, but I can/will do a canister filter if that's the recommendation here. However I wanted to make sure there weren't other ways to provide a inline reactor with water? I kept seeing things about powerheads, but I'm not sure if that's only in the case that your using that as THE diffuser.

If I did switch to a canister filter do you guys think a Marineland Magniflow 160 GPH would be enough for filtering my 29 G and for the inline reactor?

Thank you!

·
Registered
3,922 Posts
You can use a powerhead/pump to run a reactor, BUT it means another piece of equipment in the tank with a line running out of the tank into the reactor, another line running from the reactor back into the tank. Much easier to run a canister filter and you just plumb the reactor into the return line.