The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello! Newbie here! Been researching a lot and now I need a plant that does not get too wide. Something that grows upright would be great. It could be short but it would be between the swords (about 4-5 inches apart) in the background so it might not get a lot of light on the lower leaves if its not a blade type of leaf. If it grows really tall that it will over shadow the amazons, it needs to be that it allows light between the leaves so the amazons do not suffer. Am I over thinking this? Are the 5 swords enough?
I plan to add 2-3 of these plants on the left side of the tank between the amazon swords.
2x39W t5HO right on top of tank (AQ 38G, about 20” tall) – with 2 flora sun (grow) lights. I’m still debating if I would run both or just one. So to be on the safe side I’m picking plants that do not require too much light.
Some sort of val or crypt maybe?
Current plants:
5 medium-large sized amazon swords in the background
8 small to large java ferns (lots of babies ready to be planted soon, will continue to attach to driftwoods as they get bigger or detach) on two large driftwoods (center and right side of tank)
3 anubias on rocks (two in middle, one on left in front of a big slate rock formation)
Dwarf hairgrass spread across the front
3 bags of eco complete, some laterite and peat under eco complete
Pressurized CO2 with TB style inline reactor
2x ehiem 2322 caniters.
No fishes yet, plan to get some corys, loaches, cardinals, an apple snail or two and maybe some amanos
This site has been a great source of information and I've learned a lot over the last 4 months! So thanks to everyone!

·
Registered
2,757 Posts