The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey there, i was wondering since i'm fairly new to CO2 for pressurized system and only been using it for the past 2 months...what are the criteria that makes up a good regulator? is it the build quality, single or dual gauge, internal (maybe?) components, etc?

currently i'm using vivaria single gauge with built in check valve inside the bubble counter
it costs fairly cheap at around $22

so far the only problem is that the pressure on the diffuser can differ from one day to another, and i need to adjust it almost every morning. the visible cue are how much bps as well as the bubble from diffuser becoming lesser

others has recommend me with ISTA Precise
and it costs around $35, without check valve and bubble counter

at least in my country, ista precise is sought for the golden standard for the best investment for CO2 users..and this got me thinking about what makes regulator different from the others..does that mean if i use ista precise, it will have a better control over the pressure build from the cylinder?

and if i decided to switch to ista precise, is it advisable to use other brand parts together? say vivaria bubble counter and solenoid on ista precise single gauge regulator?

please advise :)

·
Registered
13,134 Posts
Machining and tolerances.. Pretty much the major difference between them all.
some quality of parts such as diaphram/seat/seal materials.

None of which is visible to the end user really.

Some of that impacts failure statistics, like some manuf may assume 15% failure is "OK".

A regulator is a fairly simple device.

Same for the metering/needle valve..
Most precise use a need of like 3 degree taper. And it needs to be symmetrical.
More machining precision.
to quote Ista:
Extremely precise processing of the control needle valve which assures the reliability and accuracy in CO2 dosing.