The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi PT,

I am totally new to fishkeeping (it will be one year in Sept. since buying my first tank) and love the look of plants in aquariums. I started with a 20gal long and upgraded a few months ago to a 75. I would like to plant half my tank, and keep the other side with driftwood and water sprite. I currently have 1 red flame sword, 1 melon sword, water sprite, and i have no idea what the green one next to the red flame is called.
I am also using my 20 long with platties to grow out 2 amazon swords, 2 red flames and a moneywort. My weird idea of growing out plants in a different tank, to only have them die or barely survive in the 75 is what brought me here.
The 20gal has a 17watt t8 bulb and 2 23watt spiral cfls clamp on lights.
On my 75, I currently have 2 of those metal-looking reflectors with Y splitters to insert 2 bulbs. So, I have 4 23watt 6500k cfl bulbs on half of my tank.
I am lost on what to get for lighting, and after reading about the dangers of buying too much light without co2, I decided to ask the experts here. Here is the side I am going to plant. Thanks!
Water Plant Terrestrial plant Aquatic plant Grass

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

Attachments

·
Registered
649 Posts
It seems as though that the real question is where do you want this all to go? You could just go with shop lights on your 75 if that's what you want. It seems to me though that you are looking for a nice light for your plants. I would suggest a higher end programmable LED. They are not much more than the lower end models, and you can save yourself from investing more down the road if you wish to have higher light plants. Just dim the lights for now.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·