The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total newbie to planted tanks and am trying to figure out what lighting level I have. Tank is a 29 gallon with Eco Complete substrate. My light is the 30 inch Beamswork HE 6500K 1W Series LED. It is about 17 inches off the substrate, and there is a glass canopy on the tank. Any idea what lighting level this would be? I'm guessing medium.

My plants are various swords, lilies, aponogeton, wisteria, hygrophila, vals, pennywort, and a little java fern. I also have some salvinia minima floating (covers maybe 20% of the tank). The salvinia minima can go if it needs to. Tank is moderately planted and moderately stocked. It has been running for a month. Water changes are 40% weekly.

I'm also wondering what I should be doing for lighting and fertilization schedule. I have been dosing with Excel daily at standard dosage. Using Seachem ferts, but just ordered dry ferts. I would like to try EI dosing. Thinking maybe 1/3 of standard dose?

Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
975 Posts
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/1...ar.html#/forumsite/20495/topics/875457?page=1

Low light directly under the light and very low the further away, front to back, you get from the light.