The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im still kinda new to this hobby so please bare with me. I was given the following two items as shown in the picture below and I have some questions about it. They were bought for a canister filter but all I own are HOB filters. Lets talk about the blue one (the left one first)

I know its bio media. The box looks kinda old so I was wondering ....

1) Is it still useable? Does it expire?
2) Can I use it in my Auqaclear HOB filters? (ive got a 50 and two 20's) and my Fluval C4 filter?
3) If I can use it, would I need to put it in a mesh bag or can I just dump it into my HOB's?
4) How often does it need to be changed? IT doesnt say on the box or the website

Now lets talk about the yellow one.. the one on the right

1) I dont understand what it is... what do ceramic rings do ?
2) Do I need it?
3) Could I use it on my HOB filters?
4) Do I need I mesh bag for those?
5) How often do they need to be changed?

Thanks for taking your time to help.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
First is bio media on left second one are noodles. Those are used to spread out the incoming water so it doesn't tunnel through the rest of the media. If you have a eheim classic noodles go on bottom then sponges then bio media/chemical.

Bump: You can use the bio in a hob which will go on top of the sponge/mechanical filtration. Noodles would be a waste imo.

No they don't expire from my knowledge.

Adding them in a bag is up to you, might be easier to remove for cleaning

Shouldn't need to replace just rinsed in tank water during maintenance.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
Ditto latchdan:
When using a loose media in a HOB filter put the loose media in a mesh bag. I use nylon stockings for this, or the coarse mesh that some food comes in (Avocados, for example). But these food bags are pretty coarse, and some media finds one hole in such a bag and falls out.