The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to planted tanks. I have a 30g & I'm wondering which type of fish to get that won't overwhelm my tank or the fish that I put in. It is an established tank with good parameters & it's had some different cats in it for about 6 months now. What type of fish should I get that would live with the cats & have plenty of room in a 30g tank? Thanks for the help. Lesley

·
Registered
612 Posts
Better get those cats out or they will eat the fish. haha. Little joke.

Some of my favorites: apistos, rummynose tetras, emperor tetras, green neon tetras.

That's the best part of setting up a tank, deciding what fish to get!

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
No fish would be happy living with cats, lol.

But if you are talking about catfish, than how many are there, how large are they or better yet how large are they going to get and if you know what type are they?

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Basically, I'm bored with what I have & want something new & exciting. My tank is a 30 gallon community tank which has more than just the Cats (catfish), LOL........ I'll list what I have in the tank now & these guys have all been in the tank roughly 6 months to a year.

4 Albino Cory
4 Corydoras sterbai "Sterba's Cory"
2 Panda Cory
3 Zebra Danio
2 Serpae Tetra
2 Red Finned Shark 3"
2 Flying Fox 4"
2 Red Wag Platy

So, what to do with the fish I have? I'd like to get some Cichlid's fish but not sure what one's & how would they get along with what I have? Any help is good. Thank you

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Basically, I'm bored with what I have & want something new & exciting. My tank is a 30 gallon community tank which has more than just the Cats (catfish), LOL........ I'll list what I have in the tank now & these guys have all been in the tank roughly 6 months to a year.

4 Albino Cory
4 Corydoras sterbai "Sterba's Cory"
2 Panda Cory
3 Zebra Danio
2 Tetra