The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to be a regular here (mostly lurking and learning) but I got burned out and had to take a break. To help get some of the spark back I decided to give in to my greatest fish desire and get discus. And yes, I'm doing it in a planted tank, because I just can't take the look of a bare bottom tank. Because of the discus and the extra requirements that come along with them I'm trying to simplify. I've pared down the hardscape and plants to make water changes and cleaning easier. And since I will not be using CO2, I'm keeping mostly lower tech plants..... Anubias, buces, crypts, swords, fissidens... Lights are still the same 4xT5HO 8 hours a day. I've been running this way for a few months now and everything has handled it pretty well. I have not been dosing any fertilizers though. And while all the plants are fine, they are definitely not as healthy as they should be.

Background out of the way now, I'm hoping to get some guidance on what to do for ferts to help everything out. I have all the dry ferts and I'm used to using calculators and mixing them up myself. I'm guessing the plants are getting N and P from the food and waste, but I'll probably need to add K and micros. Im not sure how much though, especially since this isn't a high tech setup, buy it's also not a low light setup. Any advice you could give would be appreciated.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
194 Posts
If you already have the dry ferts you can do PPS Pro, or EI low light once weekly. You can google https://rotalabutterfly.com to get the amount of dry fertilizer to add to your solution. You can also use a all in one like Thrive or Easy green and follow directions on bottle.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
5,677 Posts
I tried for 3 years to grow plants in my discus tank with very poor success. Now back to just sand.