The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still very new to this. I have been following the GLA suggestions in terms of dosing. On the second day of dosing (so 3 days since the start) I went from 0ppm to 80+ppm. I got rather worried and did a water change today (I needed to do it for ich treatment as well). I tested the water before and after and had what looked like 40ppm go to about 10ppm. I have no idea if the spikes and drops are expected, and I can only test for ammonia and nitrates atm. Should I just blindly continue with the EI dosing or halve it? The fish seem fine overall (no gasping or clamping).

Thanks for your help; sorry for what is definitely a novice question.

·
Registered
747 Posts
When you say you went from 0 to 80+ppm you mean by test result correct? What should your dosing have given you? If you add enough nitrate to raise the level to 40ppm then test and get an 80ppm test result it can only be correct if (1) another source of nitrate was added at the same time or (2) you dosed incorrectly or (3) the test result is incorrect.

2nd part - how big was your water change? If it was a 50% water change and your replacement water has zero nitrates, then a starting 40ppm would be cut to 20ppm. If your replacement water has some nitrates in it then you'd have more than 20ppm after the water change.

Outside of water changes and fertilizer additions, your nitrate levels should increase if there is a high fish load, excess food or decaying organic matter like dead plants or fish or decrease if you have lots of plants that are growing really well.

Kevin

·
Registered
343 Posts
Make sure you are using the true gallons of your tank. When I first started, I was using the 75 gallon range. Turns out my 75 was actually only about 66 gallons. I was assuming it was about 73 gallons.