The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys!

It has been some time since I have had an aquarium. I am regaining interest in starting a new tank. I want to have a wet/dry filter but I am not too sure how well this will work. I have read that Tom Barr uses this with his tanks, but I have not found any links or information that will explain why or how this is beneficial to planted tanks.

I have also read that he seals his wet/dry filter to benefit co2 consumption. Does anyone have a link or any useful info on this? I have spent the last few hours reading up on co2 distribution, water circulation and I kind of have an idea on how I want to set up my next tank.

I believe a diy wet/dry filter will be more cost effective than buying a eheim canister filter. Im still a noob so any info would greatly help and be appreciated!

Thanks again!

·
Registered
689 Posts
Wet/Dry filters or sumps are the king of the hill when it comes to filtration because they take full advantage of oxygen to feed the nitrifying bacteria bed. Eheim, Fluval, and even Filstar filters are great filters and provide great filtration for a price but once the introduction of Co2 is plugged into the equation the real question becomes what level of involvement do you want to have with your filter? You can easily buy a canister filter and Co2 equipment and sit it up and forget about it but sealing off a wet dry sump is a little more involved, okay a lot more involved hehe.