The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys! Was out of the hobby for a while due to moving around, but in the last ~8 months I've returned to it. Currently in an area with well water that has some interesting parameters and can't seem to grow even the easiest of plants. I guess I’m a born again newbie :)

Tank: 75g
Substrate: PFS
Lighting: Planted+ 24/7
Filter: Fluval 404
Plants: Anacharis, anubias, crypts, java fern, hygro, duckweed
Fish: Callichthys callichthys, Megalechis thoracata, giant danios
PH (at tap): 7.2 - test done by water testing lab
PH (in tank, personal test kit): 8.5
Nitrates hover between 10-40ppm
Ferts: PPS Pro from GLA + Glut dosing
Light duration: 6 hours at full strength

All of my plants either gradually die off, or the old growth dies as new comes in. Turns brownish green, transparent and then disintegrates. New growth is also very slow but looks nice/isn't deformed.

Had my well water tested at a lab for the full suite of stuff (heavy metals, bacteria etc). I don't have the readout handy, but this is more or less what I'm looking at;

Hard (over 240)
Extremely high iron (something like 3x the expected for the area?)
High manganese
High calcium
Small amount of sodium
Negative for heavy metals (mercury, lead etc)

I've tried longer lighting - just makes the algae go insane. Less light curbs the algae and doesn't seem to have much effect on the abysmal plant growth. I added some almond leaves to give the cats something to hide under but they don’t seem to have impacted the PH much if any. I’ve tried stopping the glut; no changes. I’ve stopped the PPS Pro for 1-2 weeks to see what happened. Situation didn’t seem to change either.

At one point I thought maybe it was the light intensity so I added two of the LED Satelite lights on either side of the Planted 24/7. Nothing but more algae (and oh god, so much of it).