The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I’m a newbie. I’ve been doing my fishless cycle for a few weeks now, but I do have some plants in there. I ordered everything online and they arrived at different times so I was adding 1 or 2 new plants every few days.

Anyway I got these 2 plants from Buce Plant (Baby Dwarf Tears culture and Green Wavy on driftwood) about 4 days ago and 2 days ago I noticed this webby stuff on a couple of the BDT patches. Then yesterday I noticed the white dot fuzzy stuff on the driftwood. (Also while writing this post I noticed some other questionable things on the roots of one of my floaters).

I’ve been trying to look it up and I’ve seen stuff like biofilm or a bloom of some kind and they may resolve themselves. But the stuff is definitely killing my BDT. There is a patch without the stuff right next to the affected patches and it is visibly healthier and brighter green. So that kinda sucks. I’m assuming I should just take out the affected plants?
Any idea what this is and how to fix it? Should I just be doing more frequent and small water changes? My parameters were already kinda stressing me out so I’m sad about this lol. This tank will be for a single Betta.

Parameters:

10 gallon with fluval substrate, plants, no fish

Temp: 78℉

Ph: 6.4 (has been steadily decreasing :( my tap is like 8)

Ammonia: 1.0 ppm (seems to swing between 0.25ppm and 2.0ppm every couple of days)

Nitrite: 0.50ppm (has been rising slowly)

Nitrate: 0.40ppm (has just started to rise)

Kh: 1 dKh

Gh: 3 dGH (trying to find out how to fix these two...)
Thank you!

·
Registered
3,917 Posts