The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting a new 70 gallon corner bow tank shortly and it is the process of being built. My question is in regard to the amount of light I need for good plant growth. I am returning to the hobby after many years and have not used these newer lights or CO2. (I had the best plant growth with incandescents!)
For freshwater use, the tank comes with two 24" 65 watt compact florescent bulbs.
I was shooting for medium light at most as the tank does get some modest window light, but no direct sun. Should I ask them to add another 65watt CF if there is enough room room in the canopy? (30"x30" on the straight sides.)

·
Are these real?
15,750 Posts
While I have no personal experience in that area, for a tank that deep you might want to consider HQI metal halide lamps. They are a little more expensive than PC lamps, but better for deep tanks due to their "punch".

Two of the 65W bulbs would give you medium light levels in general, but I am not sure if intensity would be an issue for any groundcover plants.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
While I have no personal experience in that area, for a tank that deep you might want to consider HQI metal halide lamps. They are a little more expensive than PC lamps, but better for deep tanks due to their "punch".

Two of the 65W bulbs would give you medium light levels in general, but I am not sure if intensity would be an issue for any groundcover plants.