The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, first post here. I hope it is in the right spot. I am very new to planted aquariums and wanted to stay in the low light low tech side of things as budget is very important.
My light is:
24in
T8
20w
Powerglow
http://www.animalworldnetwork.com/20w-power-glo-fluorescent-bulb-24inch-a1626.html

Tank is:
36 gallon Bowfront
http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3804459&lmdn=Shape

My water tests all in the normal range, but the water is on the "very hard" side.(City water dechlorinated).
The water isn't cloudy, it is more hazy and my kids just call it the "Heavenly glow" and I called it tinted and refer to the claritin commercial, where there is "Clear" and "Claritin clear" and it is like removing a film to enhance colors.

This is the best pic I could get with my phone, a little grainy but the "haze" can be seen.

Thank you for any help offered and this seems to be a great community here!

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
Well Captain Crash, if it's a newly-set up tank, within a few weeks or so, it's probably a normal occurence - "new tank syndrome" - it will likely dissipate with time as the tank ages & matures. Meantime though, you may want to consider adding a bag of Seachem Purigen to your filter - this can work wonders clarifying water - and in just a few days too.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The tank was set-up about 6-7 weeks ago. The substrate is gravel purchased from pet-smart (Thoroughly rinsed) the filter is Quiet Flow 30 Power Filter. (Aqueon, came with the tank as a full kit).

The plants are:
1 water sprite
1 anubias
2 Java ferns

Thanks for the fast replies.

·
Registered
1 Posts