The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was interested in starting a tank with shrimp... Even ghost shrimp as I have no experience with shrimp at all. I have a 10 gallon in which I am holding 2 firemouths for my brother and I want to get them out. Lol! The 10g is my first tank ever it's from walmart with the cheap walmart hood. I have been looking through this forum for a while now and I have found a lot of people using cfl but I have no idea what that means or stands for. I also want to grow plants in the 10g and I have a java fern in there that melted! I looked it up and there is such a wide range of that kind of light bulb that I don't know what to get or what kind of fixture should I get. I have a reptile lamp fixture that I could use if that works... I have never had shrimp so I don't really know which one should I get. I know that pet supermarket sells ghost shrimp at 10 - $2.

I also have a 55g which I has fish that I would absolutely love to add Shrimp but I think the fish I have in it will go to work on them.

·
Registered
44 Posts
CFL stands for Compact Fluorescent (Light?) Bulb. They're the little curly cue bulbs that are "energy efficient" but screw into a regular light socket. They come in different K Values but the best for fish/shrimp/plants are I believe 6500k to 10000k, easiest to find in Wal Mart or other places is 6700k Day Light bulb. They run a bit more expensive than a regular CFL bulb but they're much better for aquarium hobby.

As for getting shrimp for your tank, I think Ghost Shrimp are UGLY. Look around on the forums here for some Cherry Shrimp or other Neocaridina Species, they're very hardy for the most part and breed readily in almost any environment. Very good to get a start with.

·
Registered
754 Posts