The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm a newbie and I've researched planted tanks because I love gardening outdoors and fish. I just got a new tank and want to start with the potting soil I already have. Can anyone advise if this type is okay. I have seen people use straight dirt from their yard or Organic Miracle grow. But when I looked at Home Depots site a lot of folks say the formula has changed over the years and they got a lot of bugs in their bags. Food Drink Bottle Font Snack
Hand Newspaper Food Cup Tableware

The attached photos are of soil that I love to use. Can I use it in my tank? There are extras in the ingredients listed in the second photo I'm not sure about... TIA:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,653 Posts

·
Are these real?
15,740 Posts
Welcome to the Planted Tank!
I wouldn't use that. There is a lot of stuff in there that may (or not) play havoc with your water chemistry and the future inhabitants. Aloe and Yucca sounds harmless enough, but you have no clue what wetting agents etc they have dumped in there. Most of those additions may work for terrestrial plants, but not meant for use in an aquarium. Soybean meal. Really?
While buying a bag of something seems like the most logical and simple thing, I would suggest to search this board for discussions about Mineralized Top Soil (MTS) and see if that is something you can do yourself. Perhaps you have a backyard or some other area with suitable soil which is already mostly mineralized.
If that doesn't work for you, I'd suggest some Miracle Gro or other fairly generic soil without too many additions.

·
Registered
1,653 Posts
I wouldn't use that. There is a lot of stuff in there that may (or not) play havoc with your water chemistry and the future inhabitants.