The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes yes yes. Another newbie to the aquatic plant world and probably everyone who replies to this will say something to the degree of " do a search" but im starting a new thread anyway. On that note, hello, my name is Joe. I have been keeping aquariums for many years. On the freshwater side, I have always kept african cichlid tanks. On the saltwater side, I have kept fowler tanks and soft coral reef tanks. But, this is my first try at a community tank with live plants. I have done some research and decided to go with a tank with plants versus a planted tank. Besides, my lace rock is the show piece in this tank. What I need help with is some plant id's of a few species in my tank. I know I have a java fern and a bleheri sword but not sure what the other plants are or their requirements. I want to keep a low light tank (hence the fern) but not sure if all these plants are suitable. I made a profile that has a picture of my tank and all related info. any id help is greatly apreciated. Thanks.:iamwithst

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
I know most people have a hard time searching for IDs for plants so, no worries there but posting pictures of the plants you're unsure about in the thread is the best way to get the most responses. :)

·
Registered
3,500 Posts
Those are not fully aquatic, the fern may be but not the first two. The first is dracaena, can't remember the other right now. The LFS sold you pond plants, they probably don't know any better, happens every day. They'll live in standing water but won't last forever fully submersed. You could prop them on the edges of the tank like in a riparium and I'm sure they'd do great, a lot better than they will under water.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·