The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I’m new here and need some advice. I keep Blue Dream shrimp. I recently purchased a few new ones and when I got home I discovered that I got 3 berries females. Flash forward 3 months, and I have a lot really beautiful blue babies, but I also have some ugly guys. I’m new to breeding so I was wondering, will the the fry eventually all even out to Blue Dream? Or am I going to end up with just as many of the less desirable kind? My local aquatic shop will buy the prettiest from me, but I don’t know what to do with the rest. Is it possible that I might be able to find someone locally to take them off of my hands? I would be happy to give them to anyone who would give them a good home for free.
Thanks!!!

A picture of some of my Blue Dreams 💙

·
Registered
3,559 Posts
The shop may take them, or you could sell them for a discounted price to someone local. There are people who don't mind having 'ugly shrimp' in their tanks.... and some use them for food... for other fish...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The shop may take them, or you could sell them for a discounted price to someone local. There are people who don't mind having 'ugly shrimp' in their tanks.... and some use them for food... for other fish...
Good to know! I probably won’t give them to someone who will use them as food, but I love the other options

·
Registered
271 Posts
Also remember that some shrimp don't fully color up until they are older. Males are usually lighter as well.

When you mean ugly, are they a different color, have stripes?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Also remember that some shrimp don't fully color up until they are older. Males are usually lighter as well.

When you mean ugly, are they a different color, have stripes?
Some are actually really cool looking- clear/grey with blue speckles. Here is a picture of one of the prettier ones