The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, this is my first post! I'm a beginner at this hobby, and while I have been doing tons of research and have been trying my best not to just rush in recklessly, I'm sure I don't have to tell any of you how difficult it is to find a clear answer about just about anything regarding the hobby. Thus I proceed with trepidation and excitement:
I have a 10 gallon tank that now has a Dwarf Gourami and six Pygmy Corydoras. I added the gourami about 2 days after starting the tank, and then three corys about 2 weeks later and the last three the day after that when I realized three wasn't enough after all. (For anyone interested, my gourami's name is Gorlami, and the corys are Fus, Ro, Dah, Su, Grah and Dun)

Already my tank has kind of strayed from my initial plan; I had originally intended to get some (three) bigger corys for the bottom of the tank, but the guy at the store convinced me to get the pygmys.. I was a sucker and didn't realize til I got home that their behavior is quite different from other corys and they now check a box I didn't intend them to check. (sidebar: can I still get guppies?) Regardless, I'm committed to the little guys now.

I want to get some shrimp to help with tank maintenance, and I was thinking five would do as they seem to be sold in groups of five, but would that be too many? Would I still have room for some guppies? If I should even get guppies at this rate since the pygmy corys kind of take up the same space they would? And what about the bottom of the tank now? Will I have room for a few of something else, like maybe some loaches?

Also, my tank has started to grow some wavy white specks along the glass, which I scraped off, but I expect it will come back. As far as I can tell that's not necessarily a bad thing(?) but it's even moreso making me want to get something that would enjoy cleaning it.