The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new at this hobby and wanna have my first planted aquarium, my tank is 40 L (10 gallons) which I will keep a betta in it, it is lowtech, and I will have the following plants in that tank: crypt wendtii brown, anubias nana, anubias nana petite, rotala sp. green, bacopa caroliniana, sagittaria subulata or crypt parva. I have 1200 lumens led lighting, and as substrate my plan is from bottom: crushed lava rock-tropica substrate-vitasand river gravel and I don't wanna use any root tabs, atleast in first year. I will use tropica premium liquid fertilizer in first 2 months then I'm gonna start using Tropica specialized fertilizer. Is my plan ok? If there's anything wrong etc. can you tell me please? Thank you.

·
Registered
368 Posts
I haven't personally had any luck with the crypt parva, but the others on your list are relatively easy to grow plants.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Like the previous comment your plant list is pretty solid but you may see even slower growth with the slow growing crypt parva depending on the PAR levels of your light at the distance you plan to plant them. Is there a particular reason why you want to skip the root tabs from the start? It would also be beneficial for the other plants you have listed. Just curious. Also I would consider waiting 3-4 months before switching to the specialized. In low tech setups I've found that allowing your plants to grow/get well established and getting your plant mass up will help prevent algae with the specialized. But you may just have adjust dosage as you go.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·