The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I am a beginner fresh water aquarium hobbyist with a limited amount of reef tank experience. I recently bought a fresh water aquarium setup, and I have decided to start a tank journal because I have several noob questions and I would like to track the progress of my tank.

Here is the equipment I bought:

Ohko rocks from AFA:

Bare tank on stand:

More updates and questions to follow. I have to get back to work.
Cheers. :smile:

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have no idea.

Which plant species are best for a beginner cycling a tank?

From my understanding it is best to plant a solid amount of plants the first day you pour water in the tank to help with the cycling. Is this correct?

And should I start dosing CO2 the first day? What should the photo period be during cycling?

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Pretty much any hardy stem plants I believe. Also mulm, filter gunk, etc from an already established tank will help reduce your cycle time. From the day I set my tank up I ran CO2 and a 10hr photo period. Also, I dosed EI for one week, stopped for one week to do water changes (high ammonia from AS) and then resumed EI dosing. Plant growth is A+ (HC carpet).

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for the responses guys.

The EI method is new to me but I was able to find an informative forum post online which helped me better understand how it works. Which dosing products do you recommend?

If I let a 5 gallon bucket of tap water sit for 48 hours will I be chlorine free? Unfortunately I do not have a power head available to disturb the surface of the water.
I am worried about having chloramine in my tap water but I was unable to find a tap water analysis online.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Which water parameter test kits should I own for a beginner?