The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I have done my lurking and finally decided to join. I've got a 10gallon Tetra "Half Moon" at work that I am turning into a planted. But all my questions are re our 55gal at home.

1- Filters- So I hear Eheim is the best. Would a 2213 be sufficent for a 55gal? I can't really afford much more than that (I found it on amazon for about 85.)

2 - Online Resources! - There are 2 Petcos (lame), one local fish store, and it's kind of crap. No one knows what the plants are called, and it's WAY overpriced. A 20lb bag of eco-complete was 38$!! So I was hoping you could direct me to a few reliable websites with decent selections of plants, lighting, filters, etc. Which brings me to my 3rd question,

3 - Plants. I need some suggestions for some easy, hardy plants. Since I am a noob I don't want anything difficult yet. I can always work up to that.

Sorry for the repeats, I did a LOT of reading so I hope I'm not repeating too much.

·
Super Moderator
12,114 Posts
An Eheim 2213 would be suitable for perhaps a 10 or 15 gallon tank at best. You would definitely need a bigger Eheim for a 55 gallon tank (I believe people will suggest the 2217).

For plants, I would suggest the basic low light plants such as Anubias spp., Cryptocoryne spp., Java Fern, Java Moss, etc.

·
Registered
82 Posts