The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all TPT members!

Well my friend just gave me his 75 gallon tank, magnum 350 filter and light. I have some live plants in it now and It dying very fast...I have 3 small discuss fish and the fish seem to be fine...(i hope). I love how the plants look on this site, and I have NO IDEA about planted tank. Is there a step by step instruction post? I try to search but didt get anything for a total newbie like me? I would like to start with few plants and see how it turn out but they all dying...(not enough light?)

Here my Question.

What are other basic tools/equipment I need?
What are some newbie plants should I get?
How to keep the plant form dying?

Thanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
What kind of light are you running on the tank? What about the substrate?

What type of plants did you try to grow already?

If your first attempt at plants were unsuccessful it probably has to do with the plant selection and the amount of light.

The first thing you can think about is what kind of planted tank do you want? Do you want to be able to grow anything and everything or are you willing to limit your choices to save money and to reduce the amount of maintenance required?

Once you answer these questions you can look at upgrading your light and possibly changing the substrate.

As far as newbie plants, it depends on the light setup you are running.

All the best,

Evan
Low Tech 26 Gallon Tank

·
Registered
196 Posts
welcome!

Like you I also just started a 75 gal planted tank! There are just so many options when it comes to planted tanks. What is your budget? I think that will determine where to start... I have put a lot into my tank, but I knew what I wanted and that was a lush, healthy and easy to keep...

Total I have spent is around 1200.00... that included everything, you already have the tank, filter and light so I guess you off to a good start...