The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I am new to the hobby and have started my first tank last Monday so on day 8 today.

The tank is 318 litres in capacity.

I am running 2 Fluval LED plant spectrum which are 59 watts each. I have them on full power for 6 hours a day since I started and CO2 comes on 2 hours before light comes on and turns off 1 hour before lights turn off.

Dimensions 122cm x 61cm x 46cm

Filters: Oase 850 and Fluvial FX6.

When I calculated lighting I thought this would be enough for this tank but I have some slow growing algae on the hardscape and so was thinking whether I am using too much light or not? My flow is good and stable, my co2 is stable and my light every day is stable.

I would like to say my plant is heavily planted but they are all still babies the plants (most are 1-2 grow pots). Lots of stem plants on left and left back.

Should I adjust the lighting in any way? Or make any other changes? Or is it just new tank algae that will leave in a couple weeks?

I have attached some pictures.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
151 Posts
i think you have enough lighting and 6hrs/day is a good place to start. might want to go to 85% light output. that algae you say is showing up on hardscape looks like the white growth on new driftwood. it's harmless and will disappear.

although you have no fauna, is your tank cycled? best to start with 0 ammonia and nitrite to keep algae at bay.

looks like you're using ada aquasoil. if so, it is recommended to do daily 50% water changes for the first week, every other day the following week, followed by 3 a week, followed by twice a week, then once weekly in successive weeks. high ammonia could be the reason plants on the right side are melting.

have you started dosing ferts? you can get an all-in-one with traces and K but without N or P.