The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright this is my first post. Im fairly new to tank keeping. I started a 10 gallon with a few female betta, few ghost shrimp and a molly. I played a few bulbs from those packets at petsmart and have gotten a bunch of plants out of them... I also planted a water wisteria and put a marimo moss ball in. The tank is cycled and was before planting occured. Ive had this tank since sept 3. All of a sudden, i am getting this white fluffy fuzzy stuff in my sponge filter and it is hindering the water flow and since that i changed the filter bio bag thing, but now its back. Now to my next problem besides the recent poor filtration. I have discovered there has been a bunch of white fuzzy spots growing on the glass all the way around the tank. I have researched till my brain hurt and i know its not eggs for a snail... which ive read is quite common. They are kinda fuzzy and not hard, i can whipe them off with a sponge, and i do during thrusday water changes.... But its annoying. And also i was just staring at it and saw a tiny little white thing running around! it was the size of a "." and just running around the glass! Im very confused as to what to do about this whole situation. I recently had a few deaths, 2 otos died (i tried to get them to combat these white spots), and 2 female betta died unknown causes, found just laying down on the bottom of the tank...then i got them out and they died shortly later in a cup. But any way, id really like to have to to constantly sponge the glass walls, and clean out the filter/buy a new filter bio bag ever few days... its getting ridiculous.

Please help! thank you! And im sorry if i did not give enough information, i tried to be as precise as possible.
-Alex

·
Registered
567 Posts
It sounds like some sort of fungus or bacterial outbreak to me.