The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Everyone I am a new tank owner. I have recently added my first set of fish, Tiger Barbs. I purchased them, knowing they are moderately aggressive and well aware that I will have to be selective in choosing tank mates. Looking for any knowledgeable advice regarding what sorts of fish they can be housed with. I currently have a 10 gallon tank with 5 tiger barbs. Look forward to hearing any input. Thanks!

·
Children Boogie
16,743 Posts
Nothing. They are semi aggressive fish especially cramped into a small tank. The 5 barbs will do better in 29G tank. You can return then and get SMALLER fishes.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As I mentioned above, I am very new to this. I was merely going off of the advice of the people I spoke to at Pacific Aquarium here in NYC. They advised me that based on my tank size, this was a good fish to start with and that I could add more. A more productive response would be appreciated.

·
Registered
820 Posts
5 Tb in a 10...stocked except for snail/otto.....I had 8 TB in a 40B with 3 Gourami's, 1 rubberlip, and 1 red tail shark.....

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
Yeah that's too many. And I would never put them in a 10 gallon tank anyway. They like to run and chase each other. I had 3 in a 40B and they normally chased each other all over the place but they bothered the other fish enough that I eventually got rid of them. I put them on my $%&# list of fish to never get again. They're just annoying...

·
Children Boogie
16,743 Posts
As I mentioned above, I am very new to this. I was merely going off of the advice of the people I spoke to at Pacific Aquarium here in NYC. They advised me that based on my tank size, this was a good fish to start with and that I could add more. A more productive response would be appreciated.