The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now before you throw your hands up and think that this is something that was so easy to see coming, just hear me out. This is my first tank, planted tank at that, so I am a rookie:

I've recently stocked my 45 gal with 5 Tigers, 5 Green Tigers, and 5 Rosy barbs. They all get along great, look great, are healthy and colors are absolutely gorgeous. The rosies were dull when I bought them and they have since become a very deep, rich rosy color and just look great. I also have 4 Otos in there that they don't bother, although the Otos were in there BEFORE the barbs, so that may be why. My tank is testing perfectly and continuing to hold all it's numbers at consistent values.

My issue arose yesterday from a disaster of incompatibility. I bought 12 Neon Tetras and had also just purchased the last of my barbs. I figured my tank was big enough, it's moderately planted with hiding spots, the barbs were going to be in shoals of 5 after my last three barbs were introduced, and also, with the introduction of 3 brand new barbs at the same time, the existing barbs would be preoccupied with them, and each other. I also did my research and found that barbs do tend to leave tetras alone in most cases if the barbs' shoals are big enough. I couldn't have been more wrong.