The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I found a good deal on a new Fluval Spec 5 on Craigs and I'm going to pick it up tonight and I am interested in having a small shrimp tank. I'm a beginner so I was thinking of Red Cherry shrimp or Crystal Red shrimp which I think are best for beginners? I do have a few questions though!

1 - Substrate - I would like it lightly planted, but I'm not doing CO2 here so I was thinking something inert like sand, but also considering EcoComplete or Flourite. Do either of these have and adverse affect on shrimp?

2 - Ferts - How do shrimp do with root tabs, Excel and Flourish?

3 - Water quality - Should I plan on using RO water? Or is tap okay?

4 - Hardscape - Are there any types of rocks that would affect the gh/kh of the water that I should avoid?

Thanks, and forgive the extreme newbie questions... I'm excited though!

·
Registered
861 Posts
1. I use Ecocomplete in all my shrimp/crab tanks. I believe all the substrates you mentioned would be okay.
2. ??
3. Really depends on how your water comes out of the tap. For most people Treated Tap water is okay for Red Cherry Shrimp. Not sure on CRS.
4. ??

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
1 - Substrate - Your choices are good.

2 - Ferts - Excel is dangerous, dose sparingly. Flourish and root tabs work fine, just make sure to maintain stable parameters and make sure to avoid ammonia spikes from excess nutrients.

3 - Water quality - Depending on your tap water, it could be fine for Neos. Your water might have a suitable KH and GH but that is unlikely. RO is definitely the better choice in most cases.

4 - Hardscape - Any rock with Carbonates should be avoided.

Agree with others, start out with Neos and work your way to Cardinia once you've learned the ropes.

The hardest parts about keeping shrimp are:
- Maintaining a stable and optimal water quality
- Not overfeeding
- Not being able to stop staring at the tank