The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow shrimp people,

I have been keeping cherry red shrimp for 6 months now. One of my Original shrimp was super red. Seriously, solid red with a pink stripe down the back. Also, one was solid red with no stripe. I have them breeding mostly in a 20 long with white sand. Most of my colony are very light in colour and I have not found many solid red. I have a small number living in a 50 gallon with black sand and i have not found any sold red in there either. Recently, a 10 gallon tank of mine stood vacant. It is not a tank for a few bumble shrimp I had/have. Unforntuantly for the bumbles they were wild caught from the petstore, so the survival was not high. I recently had a female with eggs, but they dropped in less than a week. Have not seen any bumble shrimplets mixed in with the cherries. Anyways, this tank is a lower ph than the other and has a black substrate. I decided to put pregnant super red with a stripe in there to give birth. So far the babies are growing and most have survived. It is hard to tell if any are super reds. Seriously, my original dozen shrimps had great variety, dark shrimps, light shrimps, some with brown eggs some with green some with yellow eggs. Most of my shrimps in my main colony have many clear areas on them and a mixture of light orangy red with white pigmentation, some are even pinkish with light red and white alternating patters. Maybe it is the white substrate, but the larger ones on a black substrate are also light in colour. Well, in a month or so I should get an idea what the offspring of my super red will look like, if any of them are super red also.