The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 135 Posts

· Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone!

I've been creating topic-specific threads for a few months in preparation for bringing myself back into the hobby by finally bringing my 90 gallon tank into use.

It's the same old story I've read about many times. Lifelong fish tank guy... birth of first child... work related move to a new city... no time or energy to set the tank back up. Time passes... wife puts screens around empty tank in the corner of the living room. Winter turns to spring, spring to summer, summer to fall, and then the snow begins again. Eventually that first child gets his driver's license, and one thing leads to another and it is time to bring the tank back into use.

First, I want to reflect on the tank as it was in 2005 when I took it down to move (the fish were given to a friend and did just fine).

Vertebrate Terrestrial plant Organism Plant Underwater

Plant Vertebrate Wood Organism Rectangle

The tank had a Hamilton Technologies dual metal halide / VHO fluorescent light enclosure The ballasts were up in the attic because they buzzed so much, and they sucked down power like crazy. A 5 lb CO2 tank fed a couple bubbles per minute into the Eheim 2217 filter, using the filter as a reactor. A water change system in the basement pumped water up to the tank. It was the tank of my dreams at that time. And I've missed it ever since.

I will use this thread as my main journal thread, while opening topic-specific threads as needed in the correct forums. I look forward to sharing my journey with you, and learning from the rich experience in this forum.

It will take a while to catch up... bear with me!

· Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
My work on restarting with the hobby started with reading this forum and coming up to speed on the latest technologies.

Here's a link to my first thread where I got great input and avoided several mistakes...

· Registered