The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just bought a few plants and got home to find my big tank was not done cycling. So I put together a SMALL, about 1.5 gallon tank with an airstone and some gravel to hold the plants for a few days.

My question is this....should I keep the lights on for 24hours while the plants are in such a small quarters? I imagine that without photosynthesis the plants would emit toxins during the night and in such a small tank it would hurt them? There are about 5 medium sized plants mostly swords and I have a standard small bulb to use at night, and an 18" 10000K bulb for a few hours during the day. And I also have no heater yet.

Does this sound okay to do? Should I add a couple drops of Leaf Zone in there? I am new to plants.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I'm pretty sure you can put plants in an un-cycled aquarium without any ill effects, in fact I believe that they will help to speed up the cycle of your aquarium.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yea but I did the fishless cycle, therefore added pure ammonia. You can't add plants into ammonia because it burns thier leaves. If I had started the plants before trying to cycle then I would have skipped the cycle, but I wanted a strong foundation. So now I sit and wait...lol

·
Registered
499 Posts
If you added enough ammonia to burn the leaves of the plants then you added way to much ammonia. You should be able to cycle the tank just fine with the plants in the tank. Remember the entire point of the cycle is to build up the bacteria necessary to remove the nitrogenous waste of the fish. Because the plants uptake, thusly reducing, several of the intermediates of the nitrogen cylce if you have enough plants in the tank no cycle is even necessary. Unless you have way, way to much ammonia in your tank I would just put the plants in the main tank.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #9