The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First and foremost, these journals are as much for me as sharing my experiences. In the past, I have had well detailed journals as well as ones I rarely update. Please understand that I will do my best to update.

Bear with me on the lengthy intro, some may or may not care to read. For me, it's a way of remembering as well as really trying to get this to work right.

Background:
This is my first attempt at a high tech tank in awhile. I actually feel that this is one of the most ambitious projects I am embarking on. Ironically, my first tank ever was high tech and high light. It didn't start that way but it ended up going there. I actually had 108 watts of T5NO over a 29, not raised with great luck for a long period of time. Then, out of nowhere it crashed. It crashed bad. It was almost as if someone put pesticides in my tank. Here it is at it's prime and it's crash, as well as the journal:

and then.....CRASH

Journal:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/t...alontsiawds-29-gallon-newbie-tank-update.html

After that, I just tried again and again, nothing worked. I kind of feel like this tank is cursed. I then just neglected it for a long time.

Crossroads:
At the same time, I found low tech, low maintainance tanks. I tried some natural style and some jungle ones. I could do so much with just a light and a filter. I used little to no ferts, just set a timer, watched it grow. These 2 tanks have never had any algae at all, no ferts, no care. It really made me change my mind about high light and CO2.

Rockscape:

Journal:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/t...bum/103106-10-gallon-low-tech-rock-scape.html

Dutch Inspired Jungle

Journal:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/planted-nano-tanks/143598-5g-low-tech-low-maintance-dutch.html