The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a planted tank for a long time, and this winter I started getting a little more into the hobby.

I bought a new light fixture, 2X55 Watt Compacts. It was a definite impulse buy. I immediately had trouble with algae. I went through a crash course in water chemistry through the forums here, and I'm getting it under control.

My question...is the much light too much for my 30 gallon aquarium?

I'm considering taking the thing apart and building a new hood (something I'm uneasy doing, I've never built one before) with only one of the lights. Any advice?

Peter

·
Registered
2,602 Posts
Definately not too much light. Myself, as well as many others have used that much light on a 20g. It's still a lot of light, so there won't be as much room for error. Make sure you keep your Co2 levels high and keep your fertilizing routine consistant. I would also limit the photo period to somewhere around 8-9 hrs until you get everything worked out and the tank has had some time to grow in. Hope this helps. Good luck.

-Ryan

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
DIY not doing it for me anymore.

I want the pressurized co2, but I've done the research for so long, and I'm still leary.

If you were to start a co2 setup from scratch, what would you do first?

I'm afraid that I would just be setting myself up for a whole lot more trouble and money. (Exactly what happened when I bought my new hood. I didn't know what I was getting into when I went to 110Watts on 30 gallons.:icon_eek: I don't want to make the same mistake with a co2 setup.)

Maybe I should try adding another DIY bottle to my system. I only have one Natural Plant system thing.

·
Registered
9,600 Posts