The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys.

I've been playing with aquariums for about 4 years now; plants for about a year. I started by rescuing a goldfish from a film shoot. Quickly realized that he didnt belong in a bowl, and my hobby suddenly blossomed.

So now, I found myself buying my own Christmas present this year - a 72 gallon bowfront. And I'm excited to start scaping!

However, I'm inundated by inspiration. I want to try something truly unique. I've seen plenty of 'natural environments' - I love attempts at creating a particular scene from scene from nature in the aquarium. I'm a fan of most aquascaping from the most minimal Igwami (sp?) designs, right up the those most luxuriant Dutch designs.

But I have a secret passion, friends. You know when a family member or friends figures out you're 'into aquariums', and you get a tacky little castle, or a purple scuba guy with 'real diving action' - we all roll our eyes at most of that stuff. But sometimes, well, sometimes I love the campy stuff. I'm a huge fan of model miniatures, fantasy landscapes, and post-apocalyptic imagery. I'm really interested in ruins, archeological oddities, traces of mankind being re-absorbed by nature.

It begs the question - and you may find it silly, especially when an aquarium is such a personal thing (Do whatever you want, right?) - do such things have a place in the art of aquascaping?

A crashed fighter plane, lying on the ocean bed. Sunken African ruins, grown over with creeping mosses and giant swordplants. The hanging gardens of Babylon - complete with multi-tiered substrate.

Is it simply too corny to merit a serious look? Or are there aquarists out there experimenting with these sort of things?

·
Registered
481 Posts
Plantella

Oliver Knott does these for specific displays but some of them might be kinda cool to have at home.