The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
55gal planted tank.
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Question

I have an old odyssea t5x4 light I have been useing for about 10 years. Nothing wrong with it it works great.

Do people even really use t5s anymore or is just better off switching to LED

To bring up my main question lighting witch has always been my most misunderstood thing on my tank What light to use.

I am using 4 t5 5000k bulbs I run 2 bulbs for 3 hours then run 4 for 2.5 hours then back to two for 3 hours then off.

For some reason I feel like maybe my light is just not tuned in correctly yet. Does this light set up seam ok. was thinking about switching to a 6500k but witch ones who knows.
Do you run a mix of bulbs or all the same kind.

Thanks for the help. Next we can figure out what oil is best to run in my truck. or what tire size wheel and tire will fit on a stock Hight super duty.

Tank set up

Tank: 55 gal
Lights: Odyssea T5x4
Filter: FX6
C02: Yes With and inline diffuser running through an old canister filter as a reactor its what I had laying around
Milwaukee m122 controller and regulator on a 20lb bottle.
Dosing: Yes Use a auto doser to dose Easy Green and Easy Iron
Plants: Will list later
Heater: Hygger 800w
Fish: 5 Denison barbs, 8 rummy nose tetras, 3 rainbow fish, and 4 SEA's that are fat and lazy.
Water: wet kind
Substrate: play sand using easy green root tabs

·
Registered
12,301 Posts

To bring up my main question lighting witch has always been my most misunderstood thing on my tank What light to use.

I am using 4 t5 5000k bulbs I run 2 bulbs for 3 hours then run 4 for 2.5 hours then back to two for 3 hours then off.

For some reason I feel like maybe my light is just not tuned in correctly yet. Does this light set up seam ok.
Lighting choices may be the most misunderstood aspect.
For plants there is mostly just intensity.
For you there is visual appeal, functionality.