The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my tank setup is a 40 gallon tall with two 36 inch aquaticlife dual lamp t5s on it 39watts each and just a few rotalla speciaes plants in it. i have a 305 fluval filter do 20 percent water changes every week. my water tests come back just fine but i still have algae growing at a rapid rate. if i do a 3 day blackout (before i put plants in) the algae would completely go away only to come back a short time later. tank has been running for months and is cycled also and grew plants at very rapid rates. my questions are.

1 what life expectancy should i see out of these bulbs one 6500k and one 650nm
2 what bulbs should i replace these with to help aid in growing plants.

3 any other areas that i havent thought of to try?

and also if im doing something wrong in posting this take it easy on me im a newb. thanks brandon from york, pa

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
I doubt old lights are causing algae, exactly how old are they? Looks like you have quite a bit of light. Is the fixture right on top of the tank, or raised? Are you running CO2, and are you fertilizing, if so what are you using? What are all the parameters that you have tests for?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
co2 no im using flourish excel and thats it.

one set of bulbs might be 11 months old the other 7. the one has a black ring around it so i know its definitly due.

lights are on ten hours ran on a timer.

my tests are nitrite nitrate amonia ph its an api kit not the strips.

the lights are on the mounts it came with and are about 4 inches from the surface of the water but the tank is also a 40 gallon tall.

the thing that gets me is that i had the tank set up before i moved and the plants were growing amazing and the fish were healthy even bread. then the algae started.