The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I've been running a sun sun 303b on my 60 gallon for about 10 months now, and it's been working well so far, until today. I'm not sure what changed but I cleaned the canister yesterday, today the flow is really weak. It's hardly moving any water and I don't know what I did. I took it apart and reassembled a bunch of times, I checked and cleaned all the parts, I removed some media in case I packed it too tightly. Nothing is helping, and the flow was fine before I cleaned it. Does anyone have any ideas of something I might be missing? I messed with it all day and got upset and impulse-bought a fluval 406 online. I'm not sure what to do next, but it is for sure not enough flow as its running now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
I'm thinking you probably still had a bunch of air trapped in the canister filter?
Use the priming button to purge air out and start a siphon. Once you plug it in and get it running, tilt the canister filter front, back and side to side to let the air pockets flow out.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I checked for air. I primed, tilted, primed again, tilted more...ill do it some more to be sure.

I'll try to look into the seal tomorrow, see if there's anything to that.

I can't imagine what changed! I'm watching tiny bits of debris float leisurely around the intake and occasionally maybe slowly float into it. And the fish are swimming through the outflow as if it's nothing. Before cleaning yesterday it was fine.

·
Registered
1,653 Posts
If I might make a suggestion. Try rubbing vaseline or silicon grease around the head seal and reassemble. Make sure its primed and burped well. If that helps I would order a spare seal or two.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok, I'll try that tomorrow as well.