The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I built a 10 gal sump for my 40 gal acrylic tank and it is working well. I run a Marineland canister with it as well because I think you can't have too much filtration. I have an unused 20 long that I can reseal and make into a sump. It will fit, but I will have to take out the cannister filter. I don't mind because the bigger sump and extra pump will more than make up for it. The 10 has one return pump, but I would like to have 2 in the 20. As the plumbing is already done, the 20 would have to be configured with the drains in the middle and the returns at each end. I don't see any problem with this configuration, but I am not a sump expert so I am asking here if anyone has tried this or sees any issues with it. If I have too I can reconfig the plumbing, but would rather not. TIA. Messy drawing attached,
Handwriting Rectangle Slope Font Parallel

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for that, but all my sumps are the same. There is a few inches between the end of the pipes and the first sponge. Plenty of water if a fish got in. I have large pre filter sponges on the main drains and filter socks on the end of the emergency drains, and even so I get Platy fry in the sock on my 75. I only clean it out every month or so when I think about it. It is amazing the places and conditions fish can live. Then we try to give them the best and still they die....lol

·
Registered
499 Posts
I don't get why people use 'bio media' with sponges since sponge is often a superior bio-media material than most bio-media material.
-
as for frys - well i would get a number of frys in my canister filter and lets not talk about the kuhli loaches that snuck down there not once but THREE times. Given that i only clean the canister once every 6 or 8 months well you can imagine how much time he spent down there....

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·