The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,all member.. I'm new at this forum and from NY. try to start CRS with moss plant. my CRS tank was 36"x12"x16" 30 gallon. could not make decission my self to go which kind substrate.:confused1: amazonia substrate cost $44 ship and need more time cycling! seachem (flourite) contain copper 17 as i know not good.:( can any one please advise? i do a lot reading on here on there but really confused.

·
Registered
3,378 Posts
If all you plan on growing is moss, you definitely don't need to spend money on Aquasoil, first of all. That will be more trouble than it's worth for you. As far as the Fluorite, I could've sworn other people have used it in their shrimp tanks before, but since I have no personal experience I can't really comment. I've always safely used Eco-complete in any shrimp tanks I've had. Just amanos and RCS, though.

You can also use regular aquarium gravel, since you only plan on growing moss. But paying a little extra for some Eco-complete (or something similar) would allow you the possibility of growing more and better plants as time went on.

You could also use pool filter sand. Just don't put a real thick layer of it.

:)

·
Registered
9,100 Posts
If the water your planning on putting in the tank comes from a hard water source Aquasoil is probably the only choice for you. Otherwise the conditions will not be good for the shrimp and you will have wasted allot of money. When it comes to CRS tanks/setups there is no room to take the cheap route, this will ALWAYS end up costing more. CRS require specific water parameters, there is no way around this.

Now if your water is soft from the tap the choices are preety much endless and there is no need for the aquasoil.

·
Registered
160 Posts