The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, this is my first post, so far the forums seem really great.

So I read the substrate choice FAQ that's stickied on this forum, but the various pros/cons listed there didn't really make much sense to me. While I understood generally what each pro/con meant, I don't think I know how those different attributes will play out in a planted tank. I'd like to set up a 10 gallon planted tank, but this is my first time, and I really have no idea where to start in terms of substrate.

I'm interested in growing the following flora:
Bacopa
Dwarf Hair Grass
Dwarf Sagittaria
Java Moss
Moneywort
Pennywort

From what I've read, these seem like pretty easy plants to grow, and I like the look of them. I don't think I will do off-the-shelf CO2 to start with, but I might try DIY CO2 if it's recommended to me here. I don't know which lights to get, and I have no idea what kind of fertilizers I should be using.

If I could receive advice or suggestions about the substrate that would be best for this situation, along with root tabs/water column ferts/etc., required, that would be fantastic. Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
975 Posts
Hi all, this is my first post, so far the forums seem really great.

So I read the substrate choice FAQ that's stickied on this forum, but the various pros/cons listed there didn't really make much sense to me. While I understood generally what each pro/con meant, I don't think I know how those different attributes will play out in a planted tank. I'd like to set up a 10 gallon planted tank, but this is my first time, and I really have no idea where to start in terms of substrate.

I'm interested in growing the following flora:
Bacopa
Dwarf Hair Grass
Dwarf Sagittaria
Java Moss
Moneywort
Pennywort