The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm new to this planted tank stuff and just kinda dove in before researching. I currently have a 55g that has been established for years and decided to change up with smaller schooling fish and some basic plants. The problem is I have blue standard aquarium gravel for the substrate. I know this will grow most plants i would want to grow for now but I'm one of those guys whose never happy with the basics for long. So my question is do you think I could pull the decor and plants and scoop about half the gravel out then just fill back up with a better substrate without having to stress to much about cycling and killing fish?

·
Registered
1,463 Posts
You'll be fine, i've done it over 2 dozen times at this point. Though i usually take out my fish first while i redo things. You might get a ammonia spike if there's enough crap in the old substrate being kicked up as you remove it, so i'd suggest after you remove the old stuff, add the new stuff, do a big water change to not only help keep the levels down, but help clear the water up as well. I'd turn the filter off to while you change out the substrate to so you arn't sucking up a bunch of waste to be trapped by your mechanical filtration stage.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
I would remove the blue gravel, it will drift up through whatever substrate you select.

Tear down the tank, saving everything that you will be reusing, especially the filter and put it back together again.

The population of bacteria in the filter and the new plants will highly likely be able to handle the ammonia from the fish waste.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
:confused: I worked on my 10 today. I thought it was kind of rough and I made a couple of mistakes - this was my first dirt installation. I had gravel in the tank to begin with.