The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm a total newbie on this board, yet I thought I would ask for a bit of help figuring out what is wrong with one of my Angelfish. I noticed today that his (I'm just assuming here, lol) pectoral fins are sickle shaped, when two days ago they were not. It's a pretty small fish, about nickel sized in body, and seems to be doing well otherwise. Any ideas?
Water tests out nearly perfect (slightly higher PH than I would like, but my water from the tap is hard as heck, and fighting it is futile) and the temp is 80.

The pic is not very clear, as the fish is rather small, and does not stop moving for very long, sorry about that.

·
Registered
722 Posts
welcome to the board :icon_smil
are you talking about those long trailing pectoral fins?
they usually dont stay straight...especially if the angelfish is moving

·
Registered
562 Posts
hmm... unfortunately, it's impossible to see those fins from the photo - however, he could be a mutant. (no, not like a ninja turtle) but I have a male betta whose trailing fins stick straight out to the side like wings. sometimes you get an anomaly. he's perfectly healthy otherwise, but I wouldn't breed him for anything (it's a shame too. He's got REALLY nice crown tail finnage... Not that I breed bettas or have the space to do so)

Does your angel have any trouble moving? does he get picked on by the rest of them more than normal? is he the only one in the tank? Is he one in many that you are raising from a batch of fry? Really, it's probably just a birth defect. If you wanted to get a really good picture of it, you could get a white net, catch him, get him above the water line and snap a photo with the flash on. It should capture enough detail to give us a good idea of what's going on. (and being out of the water for two seconds won't kill him unless you're spraying for bugs in the house)

Anyway... those are my thoughts.

·
Registered