The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new here, but I thought I would post my first tank. I used to have a 10 gallon fish only tank about 25 years ago, and this is my first planted tank. Please give me tips and suggestions! I am a total noobie when it comes to aquascape and planted tanks in general.

Tank:

• Fluval Edge Black
Lighting (coming soon):

Substrate:

Hardscape:

Flora:

• Java moss
  • Java fern
  • Anubias Nana
  • Crypt Parva
  • Large stem/leaf plant that I forgot the name of... :(
Fauna (coming soon):

• 4 Crystal Red Shrimp
  • 2 Blue Tiger Shrimp
  • 6 Cardinal Tetra

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have a lot of questions for some of the experienced aquarists on the board. I would greatly appreciate some help here:

Plants:

• When planting my Anubias Nana, Crypt Parva, and Java Fern, I removed the steel wool and planted them directly in the substrate, trying not to damage the roots while doing so. I read that this might be bad, and that I should attach them to rocks or driftwood instead. Will they be ok?
  • This tank will be a low-light, low tech tank, with just the 240 lumens LED lighting it for a 12 hour photoperiod. I would like to have a carpet, so I was thinking of adding Marsilea Minuta. Would this be a good way to carpet the tank?
  • Right now I'm just dosing Flourish, but I was thinking of dosing Flourish Excel and possibly upping the light, would this be a bad idea? Please help because I'm new here. I tried to pick low light/low tech plants, but I want to make sure they thrive, while avoiding algae.
Filtration:

• Right now I have the foam mechanical, carbon, as well as bio filter. Would it be better to remove the carbon filter and add a second bio filter? I've heard that the carbon filter can remove my Flourish ferts.