The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie in the planning stages of my 55g and i think i have some good choices but i wanted to rub it by some more experienced people. My list includes 2 angels, 2-3 dwarf gouramis, 1 rts, 2-3 otos, 4-5 harlequin rasboras, 4-5 cardinal tetras, about 15 or so shrimp, maybe a bristlenose pleco, 4-5 rummynose tetras, probably some neons too (idk tho), and i would love to have a few glass cats (I just think that they're neat lol). My tank will be a low light/low tech tank that will be moderately planted. Will this be too many in a 55g? Will these species be compatible with each other? And if so what order should i introduce them? I know that i'd love to get the angels first because they're my gf's favorites and i want them to be kinda of a surprise. But if I need to wait on them then that's ok, just as long as get them in there so she don't hurt me lol. thanks in advance for any advice and suggestions.

·
Registered
838 Posts
Those are schooling fish and they should be kept in groups of at least 7 for them to feel safe/comfortable, except for the dwarf gouramis, a harem of 3 would be okay. Oh and the otos but I would have 5 or 6. In my opion I think it might look better to have a group of 20 Rummys OR 25 rasboras OR 25 tetras they all school well instead of a mix, it would make a fantastic large school.
Good Luck!

·
Registered
703 Posts
I agree completely, although it seems to newbies variety is the way to go, having nicer schools of less types ends up creating the more attractive setup, and by keeping larger groups of social fish we are keeping them much more naturally. This is especially so with fish with strong schooling instincts like rummy nose and glass cats.