The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to the hobby or at least unexperienced, as I have dabbled with aquariums for many years but never seriously until now. I have a twenty gallon right now that is on it's way to becoming fairly heavily planted with Rotala, Cabomba, Java moss. Currently I have a very unusual assortment of fish, which I won't get into. I have a pair of German rams right now, but I would like to add eight black phantom tetras and ten ghost shrimp. I was also considering adding some Cory's, three or four. Is all of that to much for a twenty gallon?

Also I have never had shrimp, so I am not sure if ten is too many but that is what was suggested to me. I am also not sure if ghost shrimp are the best choice. Does anyone have experience with ghost shrimp?

·
Registered
223 Posts
Welcome to the hobby!

In general, as far as stocking fish, it is acceptable to have 1 inch of fish per gallon. This value can either go up or down depending on the different variables in your tank. If the tank is extremley low tech for example, you may want "understock" (less than one inch of fish per gallon), in other cases when you have extremley good filtration and perfect water parameters (for your setup), you could "overstock" and be fine.

It also depends on the type of fish you have. More agressive fish need more room so you might want to "understock" with those. Other people have been sucessful by "overstocking" agressive fish to eliminate one fish being singled out.

Decor and other obstacles in the tank also depend on the amount of fish the tank is capable of sustaining. If the tank is fairly open, then you may want to stick with the one inch rule, or even "understock", however if your tank has many hiding spots/caves, you could "overstock" and be o.k. because the fish have getaways they can escape to.

Now as far as your tank

The rams will stay around the 3 inch mark, so two are fine.