The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I have to admit that I'm total newbie when it comes to CO2 systems so let's take it slow :D

I was reading this Rex Grigg site: http://www.rexgrigg.com/regset.html but the illustration is not really complete. It doesn't show what goes after the regulator... (diffuser??) So I tried searching the forum but the more I looked, the more confused I got. :confused:

My question basically is:
1. What equipments do I need for setting up a COMPLETE pressurized CO2? So far, my understanding is:

Tank->Regulator->Solenoid->Bubble Counter->check valve->Diffuser->Powerhead ?????

2. Are there any "All-In-One Systems" out there that I can buy as a kit, that way I won't make any mistakes rather than picking up the parts one-by-one?

Driving to get refills is not a problem for me. Money is not an issue either. My budget is around $500 for a CO2 system, I just don't know what to get. I'd appreciate it if someone can post links and guide me as to where and what to buy.

Thanks

·
Registered
644 Posts

·
Registered
786 Posts
You basically got it - although some people use a reactor instead of a diffusor.

Here is a picture of the JBJ all-in-one dual-gauge regulator with handy labels for each part of the equipment. I have this one and have been very happy with it but I think Rex's is better quality. The JBJ was ~$75 and the 5 lb canister of CO2 I bought locally at a welding supply shop was $65. I used a DIY inline reactor for awhile ($15), then switched out to a ADA 'beetle' diffusor ($80) - definitely a luxury and not critical. :)

·
Registered
663 Posts
The powerhead is not necessary; as long as you have good circulation in your aquarium.

I have one of Rex's regulators and it is a real solid unit. I think you're best off talking to him.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
thanks for the help guys, I really appreciate it.