The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am thinking of upgrading my betta to a 10 gal.
I definitely want to do it planted, but since I am new to the planted aspect of the hobby I wanted to do it low-tech (at least at first)

So far I am just planning, so I haven't really bought anything yet.
But I'm thinking of planting; Anacharis, java fern, and anubias in the back. And maybe try to carpet the front with some java moss. I don't know how exactly I'm going to do that, but I might try the plastic mesh trick.

The setup I am going for is:

Standard 10 gallon A.G.A.
50w heater
AquaClear 20 (fuge mod)

I am undecided on the substrate and the lighting, but I think I might just go with the "florescent desk lamp" thing and sand to save some money.
Of course I would have to dose a lot more ferts with a nutrient poor substrate like sand, right?

I am also undecided on hardscape, but I will probably pick some stuff out when I go to my local pet/fish store.
I want to keep this as low maintenance as possible so any tips on achieving that? Anything I am missing
Thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
Sand just suffocates the roots and crushes them, ususally if you use sand you want to mix it with a slightly larger pebble as well. Plus just read up on the amount of light you will need...wattage and stuff. It won't be expensive but you need to make sure you have enough watts and not TOO much light or you will need CO2.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks OT, I will look into other substrates.

@sajata - I was planning on dosing with excel and some other trace elements, but I am not sure exactly everything I was planning on using.

·
Registered
17 Posts